Surjit Singh Fellowship

Professor Surjit Singh was the Honorary Secretary of the Indian Society of Labour Economics (ISLE) since 2009 and continued to hold the post till his sudden demise in December 2013. His association with the Society goes back to the early 1990s. Under his able leadership, ProfessorSurjit Singh successfully organized the ISLE conference of 2004 in the Institute for Development Studies (IDS), Jaipur. His contribution and commitment to the ISLE is cherished widely by members of the Society through these years. His sudden demise was a huge loss to the ISLE and the community of economists and social scientists at large. His wife and daughter gave an endowment fund in his memory for supporting the promotion of research in the field of labour economics.

Since 2015, the Society has been giving one Fellowship to a young labour economist below the age of 40 years for undertaking research in the field of labour and employment studies. The research paper should be related to one of the identified themes for the ISLE conference of the year. It should be an original work and not be based on the applicant's earlier works; including PhD thesis of the applicant. An Expert Committee would scrutinize the applications and select the candidate for awarding the Fellowship. The awardee is expected to prepare an empirical paper in about 10,000 words (including tables and appendices) and present at the ISLE Conference during that year. The revised paper/monograph would be submitted by the awardee after the two months of the ISLE Conference. Apart from a certificate, the award would include an amount of Rs 40,000.

Applications for this Fellowship are invited from scholars who are below 40 years of age for the 60th Annual Conference of ISLE. The application should contain a short proposal (about 1500 words) providing details of the research objectives, hypotheses, methodology and theoretical framework of the study. The application along with the proposal should be emailed to the ISLE Secretariat on by 31 July 2018. The decision of award would be communicated by 15 August 2018. The awardee is expected to prepare a comprehensive draft research paper/monograph by the end of October 2018 and also make a presentation based on it during the Conference.

Download form

Best Paper Awards

The RuddarDatt Memorial Award and the Sanjay Thakur Young Labour Economist Award (each carrying an award of Rs.10,000) will be awarded to the authors of the best papers at the Conference. Only authors who are below 40 years of age will be considered for these awards. In case of joint authorship, all the authors should be below 40 years. The papers on any of the Conference themes to be considered for the award should be presented by the paper writers themselves. Scholars who wish their papers to be considered for these awards should furnish proof of their age along with their full papers during online submission on

Copyright © INDIAN SOCIETY OF LABOUR ECONOMICS . All Rights Reserved